Thank You for Much-Needed Encouragement!

It is easy to become discouraged when we are surrounded by media, friends, and relatives who say we are following a fad diet that is unsustainable and will give us heart disease, cancer, weak bones, shrunken muscles, etc, etc, etc…  All of which are untrue!

I was told by an inlaw, “No offense, but you can’t believe everything you read on the Internet.”  This in response to me telling her that the mass email she sent out from her distant relative touting lots of fruits, fruit juices, and vegetables as a cure for cancer was incorrect.  Cancer feeds on all that sugar!  I recently told her that carbs convert to glucose in our blood and she said only refined carbs do.  When I told her ALL carbs convert to glucose she said she didn’t believe that and turned her back to me.

While grocery shopping, I discouraged a family member from buying a product that was made mostly from soy because eating a lot of soy isn’t healthy for him; he said I read too many health newsletters.

Don’t get me wrong; I rarely comment on what the people around me are eating and don’t point fingers at them.  I stick to my low carb plan and let them be their own food police.  But I do voice my concerns sometimes when the subject is raised.

It is very disheartening to be devalued by the people closest to me: those who know I tested my BGL after every meal for over 8 years so I know exactly what happens when I eat carbs.  Their opinion seems to be that my low carb lifestyle is fine for me, but they don’t need to watch what they eat that closely; some may even have diabetes, but refuse to get properly tested because they really don’t want to know.  Ignorance is bliss…  Until you start losing body parts!

All this ranting to get to the point:  I am SO very thankful for the positive and encouraging messages I receive from other people!

My “How to Make a Super Simple Low Carb Milk Chocolate Mousse” was featured on Squidoo’s “75 Chocolate Lenses We Love… Yum!”  I believe it was the only low carb recipe surrounded by lots of sugary chocolate entries.

I also recently received a nomination for a Food Stories Award for Excellence in Storytelling from the Food Stories Blog.

I have been asked to review books and am included as a resource for low carb recipes in Dr. Steve Parker’s Conquer Diabetes and Prediabetes: The Low-Carb Mediterranean Diet.

I also hear occasionally from people thanking me for my low carb info and recipes.  I am honored and humbled by people telling me I have even saved their lives.  It is because of these people and others I know are out there, even though they don’t write to me, that I keep creating and sharing…  And talking back to my TV when the news media tells people something I know to be outright false once again.

Thank you to all of you who read my info here and through the links at Squidoo, try out my recipes, and encourage me and each other to continue swimming upstream living a low carb lifestyle.  My hope is that someday the stream will change directions and we will be commended for our efforts instead of doubted and even vilified.

Hang in there!

*Edited to add: Squidoo is no longer in business.

This entry was posted in DAR Says.... Bookmark the permalink.