Low Carbing On The Go

It seems counter-intuitive, but when I’m really busy is when I tend to gain weight.  Whether I’m at home painting a room or busy online, or traveling/visiting away from home, grabbing quick low carb meals and snacks all day for some reason tends to pack on the pounds.

I got tired of this happening after working so hard to lose weight and experimented with different quick low carb foods until I hit on a routine that works for me.  If I gain some weight from eating out, going right back to this plan takes off the extra weight pretty quickly.

This is a YMMV (Your Mileage May Vary) thing and you may have different results or object to some of the foods I use, but I wanted to share with you anyway.  That’s what friends are for, right?

This plan is based on mostly prepackaged foods to make it very quick, easy, and portable (so no excuses for not having something low carb to eat!).  This does raise the cost, but you can sub things that come in larger containers or you make yourself, etc.  However, using single serving foods helps to keep the portions correct and easy to grab in a hurry.

You can try eating these foods in a different order, but this is what works best for me.  It may seem like very little food, but because of the high fat content, it is filling.  It also helps to eat slowly and not give in to the urge to eat more before your brain has a chance to register that it has been fed.  I also find sugar-free soda keeps me satisfied between meals.

I eat 4 meals spaced 4 to 5 hours apart throughout the day.  They are:

Breakfast:

Atkins milk chocolate shake

On cold mornings, I like to pour this in a mug and warm it in the microwave for a creamy hot chocolate drink.

Lunch:

Perfectly Easy Low Carb Chocolate Pudding (with walnuts)

(To be totally portable, you can sub a ChocoPerfection bar and a packet of Planters NUTrition Heart Health Mix.)

Dinner:

1/2 tablespoon butter
1 beef frank*
2 large eggs
Salt and pepper to taste

Melt butter in a small frying pan.  Cut frank into small rounds; add to pan and brown.  Add eggs and seasonings; stir and cook until eggs are set.

* Look for a frank that doesn’t contain sugars and/or fillers.  I use Sabrett brand skinless beef frankfurters.  They have 2 carbs and 170 calories each.

(To be really portable, you could boil the eggs instead and sub 1 oz. walnuts or macadamia nuts for the frank and butter.)

Snack:

1 cream cheese spread single serving cup (1 oz)*
1 container of sugar-free gelatin**

*I buy Philadelphia brand cream cheese in a box of 60 single serving cups.  Or I sub a cheese stick for the cream cheese.

** You can find pre-made sugar-free gelatin in a package of 12 (about 1/4 cup each) at many grocery stores.  Or you can make your own (like my Low Carb Flavored Gelatin) in small portable containers.

To be clear: I am not presenting this as the perfect low carb diet plan or guaranteeing it has the perfect amount of nutrients, etc.  (I take daily multivitamins to cover the bases.)  Sometimes I switch lunch and dinner menus around and that works well for me, too.

In case you’re wondering, the entire day (not including subs) contains about 13 net carbs, 1008 calories, 85 fat grams, and 36 grams of protein.

I just wanted to share what is working for me to keep my weight and BGLs in line with the hope that it will help someone else who is looking for quick, easy, and portable low carb ideas.

This entry was posted in DAR Says.... Bookmark the permalink.