Low Carb Flavored Gelatin

I like to eat sugar-free gelatin as part of my daily menu to keep my tummy and taste buds happy with fewer calories and carbs.  Unfortunately, most of the premade gelatin cups and sugar-free mixes I have found are sweetened with apartame, which I try to avoid.  Others are very expensive.  So I decided to make my own gelatin using erythritol as a sweetener.

Low Carb Flavored Gelatin

1 pkg (makes 2 Qts) unsweetened drink mix, any flavor*
1/4 cup unflavored dry gelatin**
1  1/2 cups granular erythritol
8 cups water

Combine drink mix, dry gelatin, and erythritol together in a small bowl.

Heat 8 cups water to a boil in a microwave or on the stove.

Gradually add drink mixture, stirring briskly.  Continue to stir until mixture is completely dissolved.

Pour liquid mixture into a large flat pan or individual containers with lids and place in the frig to set up.

I used 6 oz and 8 oz containers with lids to divide the gelatin into 18 servings of 1/2 cup each.

Each 1/2 cup serving contains no carbs and about 5 calories.  This is 2x the amount of gelatin I was getting in premade gelatin cups for the same number of calories.

* I used Kool-Aid brand, but you can also use a store or generic brand of unsweetened drink mix.  Watch out for added sugar in the form of maltodextrin.  Some flavors have it, some don’t.

** I used dry gelatin I got in bulk from Amazon.com, but you can use a package (4 envelopes) of unflavored Knox Gelatin.

This makes quite a bit of gelatin, but if you keep it covered in the frig, it will last for a long time.  Since I eat a serving nearly every day on my Low Carbing On The Go Plan, I like making about 3 weeks’ worth at a time.

This entry was posted in Misc Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.