Happy 2010!

Not only has a new year arrived, but also a new decade.  I’m still debating how to say it: twenty-ten or two thousand-ten?  However you say it, it’s time to reevaluate what is working and what isn’t for our health.  I want this decade to be much better than the last one, which for me included being diagnosed with diabetes, thyroid disease, adrenal fatigue, arthritis, a herniated disk and bone spur in my neck, etc.

One of last year’s goals was to keep my weight between 120 and 125, but somehow I picked up about 10 lbs over the summer.  I managed to take a few of them off, but I want them ALL gone!  I read the Eadeses’ new book, The 6-Week Cure for the Middle-Aged Middle,
but it’s not much different than I do already.  I am always careful to keep my carbs low to avoid making my BGL unhappy, so I need to do some more tweaking of my “safe” foods to get my scales happy, too.

My body likes to do things backwards, so exercise tends to make my weight and BGL go up, not down.  In fact, those 10 lbs I gained were when I was walking nearly every evening.  I have health issues that make exercise difficult, but I don’t want to sit around and atrophy all winter, so I bought myself a Wii and Wii Fit Plus with the balance board for my birthday in December.

Though I took advantage of some good Christmas sales, it was an expensive gift, especially to buy for myself, but it was a big birthday (It’s the start of a new decade for me, too!) and I’m hoping the Wii will help me to gently keep moving and improving while having fun at the same time.  Now if I can get it to stop telling me I’m unbalanced!  ;+)

As for last year’s other goals, I did get a lot of work done on my yard, house, and garage.  I also branched out with my online activities to provide more info and help for others who are following a low carb lifestyle.  (You can find them at www.DARdreams.com.)

And I made progress on using up the old low carb foods in my cupboards by making the ones my BGL won’t tolerate any more for my husband.  (He’s not diabetic and can handle them.)  Now I need to get busy dreaming up more new recipes that my BGL and scale (and taste buds!) are happy with.  I hope you will be happy with them, too!  8+d

As we begin this new decade, I am hoping low carb will continue to make progress toward not only being accepted, but recommended, as a way to lose weight, control BGLs, and live a healthy life.  I wish you all a very Happy New Year as we continue to improve our health with our low carb lifestyles!  8+)

This entry was posted in DAR Says.... Bookmark the permalink.