Time Out for Surgery

Sorry for the extended absence.  If you’re squeamish, you may find the following TMI (Too Much Information) and want to skip it… 
 
I had a cyst on my back between my shoulder blades that got angry and swollen to about the size of a golf ball.  I took antibiotics for a couple of weeks, trying to shrink it.  That helped, but it was still there and hurt whenever I leaned back in my chair (or bed) or did anything that moved my shoulder blades (like my nightly stretches).   
 
So I had surgery on Monday to remove the cyst.  There was only supposed to be one cyst and the procedure was supposed to be fairly simple, but it ended up taking 1 1/2 hours to remove what was actually a cluster of cysts, which wasn’t a nice, smooth round shape.  If the entire sac isn’t removed, the cyst tends to come back, so the doc had to make sure to get every cyst’s sac without taking too much healthy tissue with it. 
 
The doc had to keep adding more anesthesia and finally switched to a stronger one when the earlier doses started wearing off before he finished digging around back there.  Hubby says he could see my toes curl up every time the doc hit an unanesthetized spot, which happened waaay too often for my comfort (literally!).  I didn’t want to end up like House, so I avoided taking Vicodin after the first couple of days post surgery, but I’ve been pretty sore and immobile this week. 
 
On Wednesday, when Hubby tried to remove the dressing to clean, lube, and re-bandage the incision, the dressing was stuck in the stitches.  So I had to go back to the doc on Thursday morning to get the dressing unstuck.  Ever had duct tape peeled off a fresh incision?  That’s what it felt like.  Don’t try it at home!
 
My BGLs haven’t been happy with the surgery and recovery, but I hope they behave soon.  I’m finally beginning to be able to move around without feeling like my stitches are ripping out, so I’ve been playing with a new recipe to post for you.  I hope to be able to post it soon.  Thank you for your patience!  8+) 
This entry was posted in DAR Says.... Bookmark the permalink.