Berry Yummy Crunch

Berry Yummy Crunch

Still wanting to scratch a fruit itch, I came up with this yummy crunch. It reminds me of the kind I used to make with cherry pie filling, a cake mix, and a stick of butter. But this is much better, since my BGLs like it as well as my taste buds! 8+d

Berry Yummy Crunch

1/2 cup sugar-free Raspberry Da Vinci syrup*
1 teaspoon granular erythritol
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/16 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon glucomannan powder
1 tablespoon unsweetened shredded coconut
2 tablespoons salted butter, melted
2 teaspoons granular erythritol
1/4 teaspoon vanilla
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon coconut flour
1/4 cup coarsely chopped walnuts

Grease a small microwave-safe dish (about 2 1/2 cups). In this dish, whisk together syrup, erythritol, cinnamon, salt, and glucomannan powder, in that order. Stir in coconut. Set aside. (This will thicken while you work on the topping.)

In a small bowl, mix together butter, erythritol, vanilla, and salt. Stir in coconut flour, then walnuts. Carefully spread mixture on top of berry mixture (which should be set by now).

Microwave on high for 3 minutes. Let cool for at least a few minutes. You can eat this warm or chill for later. I like mine chilled.

This makes 1 serving with about 3 net carbs. I don’t count erythritol because it doesn’t affect my BGLs; if you want to count it as a sugar alcohol (using 1/2 the carbs), add 6 net carbs for a total of 9.

* I also tried this with Huckleberry syrup and it was very good. You can use any fruity-flavored syrup you would like.

This entry was posted in Coconut Flour Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.