Vitamins and Minerals and Supplements… Oh My!

Well, I’ve been back at it again…  Researching vitamins and supplements, that is.  Between my diabetes, osteoarthritis, thyroid disease, and adrenal fatigue, I have a lot of conditions to deal with and some recommendations for these things conflict with each other. 
 
My BGLs have been higher than I’d like (I like to stay under 100 at all times, preferably in the 70s and 80s) recently.  I’m not sure of the cause, but I did start taking a multivitamin again that I had stopped taking in December when this same thing happened.  So I’ve stopped taking it again, hoping it was the problem.
 
I’ve been reading "Dr. Atkins’ Vita-Nutrient Solution" and wishing he was here to update his book.  It’s 10 years old, but was so cutting-edge, he covered things that I am just starting to hear about in other places.  I have this book listed in my DARdreams store and have found it to be a great resource.  The Drs. Eades’ "The Protein Power LifePlan" has also been a great help to me in deciding which nutrients I need for my specific health issues.
 
I’m also trying to keep Dr. Bernstein’s recommendations in mind, especially not taking more than 500mg vitamin C because it can raise BGLs, as can too much vitamin B6.  Selenium can also raise BGLs, but is supposed to be good for low thyroid.  Sigh… 
 
I have a new doc who has me taking some new supplements and hormones, but I’m not feeling any better.  I worked very hard to get off diabetes and cholesterol meds, so it really grates on me to take any meds at all.  I’ve decided to stop the hormone cream, but continue with the supplements: iodine, vitamin D, and pregnenolone (which testing showed I need).  I’ve also ordered a new multivitamin and extra supplement for my diabetes.  I hope these help…  
 
Thank goodness eating low carb is good for everything that ails me!  ;+)  
This entry was posted in DAR Says.... Bookmark the permalink.