Picnic Salad

There are many recipes for what I used to call "Fauxtato Salad," but it was recently pointed out to me that this kind of salad doesn’t need to pretend to be something it isn’t.  It is yummy for its own ingredients and isn’t really lacking anything. 
 
So I’m calling this a picnic salad because that’s what it makes me think of: picnics.  It’s nothing fancy and you can add more mustard or spices to jazz it up if you want, but my family likes it this way.
 
Picnic Salad
 
4 large eggs
6 cups coarsely chopped raw cauliflower (about 1 medium head)
1/3 cup finely chopped celery (about 1 stalk)
1/2 cup mayonnaise (with 0 carbs per serving)*
1 tablespoon dried onion flakes
1 teaspoon prepared mustard
1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
1/16 teaspoon white pepper (or use black)
 
Cover eggs with water in a small pan, place on stove, and bring to a boil.  Let boil gently as you chop cauliflower and microwave it on high for 10 minutes, covered, in a large microwave-safe container (I used my serving bowl; it made fewer dishes to wash!).  
 
Remove eggs from burner and drain water.  Run cold water over eggs, then cover with cold water.  Put eggs and cauliflower in frig until cool.
 
Peel and chop eggs; add to cauliflower.  Add chopped celery.  You can carefully combine at this point, but it’s not necessary.
 
In a small bowl, mix remaining ingredients.  Add to veggie/egg mixture and combine carefully.  Chill.  (You and the salad!)
 
There are approximately 24 net carbs in the entire batch.  It makes enough for at least 4 servings. 
 
*The mayo I used said 0 carbs per tablespoon, but I counted 3 for the 1/2 cup.
This entry was posted in Salad and Veggie Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.