Swiss Spinach Squares

While stuck at JFK airport for about 9 hours last summer, I was getting desperate for something to eat that wouldn’t spike my BGL.  The snacks I carried in my backpack were long gone and we had already made the rounds of the fast food carbage sellers several times with little luck. I finally decided to take a chance on a whole wheat spinach and cheese scone.

I was very lucky my BGL didn’t complain too much and my taste buds were thrilled.  I’ve been drooling over the thought of that scone ever since.  This is my attempt to recreate the flavor without the carbs.  I must say it hit that nearly 1 year old spot very well!  8+d

Swiss Spinach Squares

10 oz package frozen spinach
2 tablespoons salted butter
3 large eggs
2 tablespoons white Hood Calorie Countdown Dairy Beverage
1  1/2 teaspoons dried onion flakes
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon dry mustard powder
1/8 teaspoon black pepper
1/4 cup coconut flour
6 oz shredded Swiss cheese (about 1  1/2 cups)

Preheat oven to 400.  Grease 8 x 8 baking pan.

Thaw spinach.  (I microwaved it in a glass dish for 3 minutes.)  Squeeze liquid out of spinach and set spinach aside.

In medium microwave-safe bowl, melt butter.  Beat in eggs with a fork.  Beat in Hood milk and spices, then coconut flour.  Stir in 1 cup shredded cheese and spinach.

Spread mixture in prepared pan.  Sprinkle remaining shredded cheese evenly on top.

Bake for 18 – 20 minutes until edges are starting to brown and top is set.  Let sit 5 minutes before cutting into squares and serving.

The entire recipe contains about 14 net carbs.  It makes 4 filling servings with fewer than 4 net carbs each.  Of course, you can cut it into smaller squares if you’d like.

I had this for lunch, but it would be great as a side dish for dinner, too.  Or even breakfast if your tummy can handle strong flavors in the morning.  Whenever you decide to eat it, it should keep the “Veggie Police” happy!  ;+)

This entry was posted in Coconut Flour Recipes, Salad and Veggie Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.