Low Carb Russian Teacakes

Low Carb Russian Teacakes

I have been drooling over the thought of these for months.  I hope you like them as much as I do!

Low Carb Russian Teacakes

1 cup salted butter, softened
1/2 cup powdered erythritol (+ extra for coating)
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups vanilla whey protein powder
1 1/2 cups almond meal
1/4 cup Wheat Protein Isolate 5000
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup chopped nuts (I used walnuts)

Preheat oven to 400.  Put silicone mat on large cookie sheet & lightly spray.

Mix butter, erythritol, and vanilla.  In separate bowl, mix remaining ingredients, then add to butter mixture.  Mix well.

Shape into 1″ balls.  Place on silicone mat.  (These don’t expand much, so I was able to fit all 48 cookies on one sheet.)

Bake for 8 – 9 minutes, until tops and bottoms are lightly browned.  Let cool on cookie sheet for 5 minutes.

Remove from cookie sheet.  Lightly cover with powdered erythritol while still warm.

Makes 48 cookies.

The first time I tried these they were too fragile, so I added more Wheat Protein Isolate.  If you don’t have any WPI, you can try adding more whey protein.  But be very careful; they are very fragile!

These get a little flat on one side, but retain their ball shape pretty well.  They are good without the powdered erythritol coating, too.  I like them better with it, but don’t overdo it or it will be too strong.

The carb count depends on your whey protein, sweetener, and if you use WPI.  They must be pretty low, though.  I ate quite a few and my BGL stayed under 100.  Oink!  Oink!  ;+)

This entry was posted in Cookie and Candy Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.