Cheesy Grins

I’ve done a lot of experimenting with shirataki noodles.  My husband wasn’t too thrilled with them, but my weight and BGLs (Blood Glucose Levels) love them, so I kept playing with them until I came up with some recipes he liked, too.

I named this recipe “Cheesy Grins” because that’s what I had on my face when I tasted them!  I was trying to make cheese “grits” and the flavor of this recipe was so close, I was really excited.  This has been the basis for many more recipes using the sharataki noodles.

Cheesy Grins

2 packages shirataki noodles (9 oz. each, any shape)
1/4 cup (1/2 cube) salted butter
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon seasoning salt
1 teaspoon Imitation Butter Flavor
1 cup (4 oz.) shredded sharp cheddar cheese
1 cup (4 oz.) shredded mild cheddar or other mild hard cheese

Preheat oven to 350.  Butter 8 x 8 pan.  (I used metal; glass may require a lower temp. and/or shorter baking time.)

Rinse shirataki noodles well in a colander under running water.  Drain well.  Put in blender and pulse until noodles are the texture of grits.  Or you can use the orzo shape without running them through the blender.

In medium microwave-safe bowl, melt butter.  Add eggs and beat with a fork until creamy.  Add seasoning salt and butter flavor and mix again with fork.  Add shredded cheeses and mix.  Pour in shirataki “grits” and mix well.

Pour into prepared pan and bake 45 minutes or until almost starting to brown.  (Or longer if you want them brown on top.)

Let sit 5 – 10 minutes if you can wait that long.  (I couldn’t wait, but they absorb the liquid better if you let them sit.)

This is a great way to use up weird noodle shapes that come in combo packs.  For those of you who have tried the noodles, but don’t really like them, this really hides them!  It really has the taste and texture of cheese grits to me…

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Shirataki Noodle Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.